AIU Blog

The AIU blog shares ideas, information and tips aimed at helping you get ahead personally and professionally, with topics ranging from online learning success to career development.

AIU Houston Faculty Member Receives HWCC Teacher of the Year Award

On Thursday, May 10th, 2012, Mr. Ali Falahat, full-time faculty member in general education at AIU Houston, received the prestigious Christa McAuliffe Teacher of the Year Award from the Houston West Chamber of Commerce at its 21st annual awards ceremony. Mr. Falahat was given the award as Outstanding Post-Secondary Teacher after being selected from a strong field of nominees from other Houston area colleges and universities. The award was presented by Gilda Hart from the office of Steve Radack, Harris County Commissioner.

(L to R) Keith Alexander, Chairman of the Houston West Chamber of Commerce Board of Directors and President/CEO of Memorial Hermann Memorial City Medical Center; AIU Houston full-time faculty member Ali Falahat; Jeannie Bollinger, President of the Houston West Chamber of Commerce.

Attending the luncheon were Dr. Stanley Scott, campus director of education, Dr. Kola Sonaike, chair of business programs, Dr. Dayton Hall, chair of criminal justice programs, Mrs. Nicole Bent-Jones, chair of visual communication programs, Mr. Shayan Mirabi, chair of information technology and general education programs, Dr. Felicia Olagbemi, lead faculty for accounting programs, Ms. Jamie Mike, AIU Houston ombudsman and adjunct faculty in business, and Mr. Jerrod Johnson, full time faculty in general education, all of AIU Houston. Mrs. Falahat witnessed her husband's achievement, attending the luncheon as the guest of AIU Houston.

Congratulations, Mr. Falahat, and thank you for your service to AIU Houston students!

This article is presented by AIU. Contact us today if you’re interested in an opportunity to develop knowledge and relevant skills with an industry-current degree program from AIU.